Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:53 pm


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 U.K. Catenary won’t touch the pantograph 
Author Message
 Post subject: U.K. Catenary won’t touch the pantograph
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:17 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
On various routes in Trainz when there are elevation changes to the terrain, the pantograph on a locomotive or EMU would slightly rise above the wire or slighter descend below the wire. Since catenary is only scenery splines, is this acceptable? On Midshire Mainline V3, I found this to be a common occurrence when there is a change in terrain. Is there a way so that all catenary splines on a route can be leveled for the pantograph to touch the wire for the entire length of the route? For my Gramsby Line route, the elevation will be zero constantly throughout the entire route to avoid this issue.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: U.K. Catenary won’t touch the pantograph
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 7:07 pm 
Milepost 1
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 2:35 am
Posts: 15
Trainz Version: 2009
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
Im afraid i dont know how, perhaps ask nexusdj himself?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: U.K. Catenary won’t touch the pantograph
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:25 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 975
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
This happens because the catenary splines are longer than the track splines (as in real life, the track will have a smooth curve to it, but the OHLE is always comprised of straight sections). A workaround is to move the masts closer together and tweak the spline point heights, but there isn't really a solution since Trainz doesn't support a dynamic pantograph height

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: U.K. Catenary won’t touch the pantograph
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:11 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1455
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
There's only really one way to resolve this, and that's to use more modern OHLE splines such as those made by nexusdj himself. I should know as I've replaced all the original OHLE on the Midshire route with the newer stuff. There are still places where the panto might rise or fall above or below the wire but to make sure it's 100% right for 100% of the route would take ages.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group