Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:15 am


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 TransDEM support thread 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:37 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 214658
Many, many thanks fellers for that almost overwhelming outpouring of wonderful information. Gues what software I'm going to be playing with for the rest of the afternoon? (Unless I end up throwing the PC through the window at some point of course :shock: :lol: )

Cheers all :D

Dave


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:44 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
If you're using the asc files there shouldn't be an issue. I use TransDEM 2.5 but I'll probably upgrade it as 2.8 has a tool to 'fill' gaps in 2m and 10m data.

Cheers,
Innis

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:59 am 
Milepost 3

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:06 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Cheshire, UK
Trainz Version: T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 345264
My copy of Transdem is 2.1 ! Oh well, see how it goes !

Rob.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:29 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Jacks trainz wrote:
Good afternoon,

I was wondering if anyone could possibly produce me a bit of DEM from Bishop's Lydeard to Minehead (West somerset railway) with a basic os or Googe map on the terrain.

Jack,


Hi Jack,

I'm just playing around with the LIDAR data now but I'll give this route a go and see if I can freshen my memory on how to use TransDEM.

Cheers,
Innis

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:31 pm 
Past 100!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:57 pm
Posts: 111
Trainz Version: Trainz12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 672927
Hi Innis

That sounds fantastic. Much appreciated!

Regards

Jack,

_________________
N3V forum: jburnitt12


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:20 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Right, I've managed to get a bit of the area around Minehead into TransDEM however, using the LIDAR data, it takes forever. Do any of you TransDEM users know if there's an automated process for transferring the acs data and converting to a DEM intead of having to do every single one individually? If not, I'll start again using regular 10m data as it will take days at this rate and I've already got RSI in the couple of hours I've spent on this :)

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:48 pm 
Past 100!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:57 pm
Posts: 111
Trainz Version: Trainz12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 672927
what resolution data is the LIDAR data innis?

regards

jack,

_________________
N3V forum: jburnitt12


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:23 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
It's 2m which is less than the 5m minimum for TANE but I've just created the map you need in 10m OS data which took no time.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:28 pm 
Past 100!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:57 pm
Posts: 111
Trainz Version: Trainz12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 672927
I've spent the afternoon doing some research on DEM with Trainz, including reading the tutorials again that I have for my really old version of tranzdem. and I'm still clueless! :lol:

cheers,

Jack

_________________
N3V forum: jburnitt12


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:01 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 214658
PFX wrote:
...I use TransDEM 2.5 but I'll probably upgrade it as 2.8 has a tool to 'fill' gaps in 2m and 10m data.

Cheers,
Innis

I'm hoping you mean 2.6 (mine is 2.6.3) cos I can't find a 2.8 anywhere. Am I missing something? :?

PFX wrote:
...however, using the LIDAR data, it takes forever. Do any of you TransDEM users know if there's an automated process for transferring the acs data and converting to a DEM intead of having to do every single one individually? If not, I'll start again using regular 10m data as it will take days at this rate and I've already got RSI in the couple of hours I've spent on this :)Innis

Oh please don't say that, I've just downloaded 11 zip files in 1 and 2m resolutions... :( Oh well, at least I found out before I sat staring at the screen all night wondering if I'd broken it. :|

Cheers

Dave


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:48 pm 
Milepost 3

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:06 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Cheshire, UK
Trainz Version: T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 345264
2.6 is the latest, I've just updated !

Yes, the ASC tiles are somewhat tedious to deal with. I find the jpegs are quite interesting to look at.

Rob.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:34 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Nr Penryn, Cornwall
Trainz Version: TANE SP2
Trainz Build: 90945
Author KUID: 179051
cyberdonblue wrote:
Oh please don't say that, I've just downloaded 11 zip files in 1 and 2m resolutions... :( Oh well, at least I found out before I sat staring at the screen all night wondering if I'd broken it. :|


1m isn't really necessary considering the trainz grid is only 5m.

_________________
Image

My Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/66901380@N04/


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:52 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 214658
Marky7890 wrote:
1m isn't really necessary considering the trainz grid is only 5m.

I wasn't really sure what I was doing, to be totally honest Mark. I've (finally) converted the ASC files to DEMs but now I'm scratching my head about the next step (Raster Maps and georef. Raster Maps etc.) Time to head for the manual again (always a last resort that, for us old timers :? )

Cheers

Dave


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:57 pm 
Past 100!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:57 pm
Posts: 111
Trainz Version: Trainz12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 672927
Marky7890 wrote:
cyberdonblue wrote:
Oh please don't say that, I've just downloaded 11 zip files in 1 and 2m resolutions... :( Oh well, at least I found out before I sat staring at the screen all night wondering if I'd broken it. :|


1m isn't really necessary considering the trainz grid is only 5m.


Has the trainz grid always been 5m? I find that terrain is much easier to manipulate in newer versions compared to say 2006

_________________
N3V forum: jburnitt12


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DEM request
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:32 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:57 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Nr Penryn, Cornwall
Trainz Version: TANE SP2
Trainz Build: 90945
Author KUID: 179051
I think it was in Trainz 2009 they added the 5m grid, before it was just 10m.

_________________
Image

My Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/66901380@N04/


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group