Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:43 pm


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:23 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone! I've finally decided to work on a fictional UK route of my own. I call it, The Gramsby Line, a fully electrified overhead line from Stamford to Gramsby. I'll be able to post updates when I can find the time to do so.

Stations along the route are the following along the direction of North to South. Tracks represent how many platforms serve trains.

Stamford (4 tracks, Terminus)

Balerno (4 tracks)

Ferndochty (2 tracks. Local Service only)

Furness (2 tracks, Local Service only)

Auchendale (2 tracks, Local Service only)

Dangarnon (4 tracks)

Aempleforth (2 tracks, Local Service Only)

Auchterarder (2 tracks, Local Service Only)

Bury (4 tracks)

Gramsby (4 tracks, Terminus)

There will be a local service and two express services.
The rolling stock used will be Class 477 trainsets or Class 479 trainsets. I don't know how to change the destination sign on these trainz models but they are spectacular and can be put to good use.

Now, I've already started working on the route, but I have a problem. I need some help with building the catenary. Would it be alright if I posted a beta version of the route so that someone could critique and help me fix the catenary?

I'll see if I can post screenshots as well. I feel a bit worried about this route. However, I will do my best to get it done.

Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you and stay awesome.


Last edited by car112 on Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:18 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
My apologies but I'll post screenshots of my initial progress of this route sometime this week. I don't mind if this site is inactive but I know that many of these UK routes take months or even an entire year to complete.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:46 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone. I will be busy this weekend, so I may or may not be able to post screenshots from the route. For now, I'm fixing up the catenary on the approach to Stamford. I've used portals to produce trains and see how they approach the platforms respectively. Also, the UK Catenary Height object is very useful. I recommend it for any UK route that will have catenary involved. Have a great weekend everyone.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:23 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Here are some screenshots from my route. As you can see, everything is still a work in a progress. I think I could be starting off this route on the wrong foot but I hope it will be completed. I also think I should have planned out a route map first too. :oops:

This is Stamford Station, the terminus of the line. All express and local service trains will terminate here. Tracks 8, 7, 2, and 1 are for local service trains and tracks 6, 5, 4, and 3 are for express service trains.
Image

This section of track is the approach to Stamford Station. The tracks split from 4 tracks to 8 tracks. I'm having difficulty trying to build the catenary for this specific section due to the track layout shown here.
Image

This is North Stamford Crossover, where trains can crossover from the inbound tracks to the outbound tracks. I do apologize that there are no signs of any sidings yet. There will be a North Stamford Yard.
Image

This is Stamford bridge, carrying trains out of Stamford and out onto the mainline. Further north, there will be a yard either on the east side or the west side of the tracks, which will house maintenance services and storage of all trains.
Image

I think I have made a few mistakes with the catenary as I'm not familiar with the UK catenary. However, the UK catenary height tool has been very useful, just to make sure the pantograph on the PTSO units touches the wire.

I'm looking forward to answering any questions and discussing any comments you have for this route. Thank you all and stay awesome. :D


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:22 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone. Just for reference, here is the map of The Gramsby Line. Are there any British rolling stock that have pantographs and have the capability to include changeable destination textures? So far, I'm impressed with using the Class 478 trainsets, but if I were to reskin these, who would I need to contact in order to get permission? How would I reskin the Class 478 trainset and is it possible to create destination signs for it?

I'll be working on the route today. I've been busy this summer with two summer courses and an internship.

Take care and stay awesome!

Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:54 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
WessexElectricNutter is the creator of the original 477, so he would be the person you would need to obtain permission from (although if you used any of the reskins aside from the original sussex rail or London Midland skin as a base you'd need the permission of whoever reskinned that too)

WEN isn't on here much anymore, but luckily for you he gave permission for anyone to reskin his stuff:

WessexElectricNutter wrote:
Marky7890 wrote:
I managed to find this in the Google Cache:

Quote:
This post lists content which the creator has announced can be freely distributed amongst forum members.
...
Content by Wessex_Electric_Nutter
...


Originally posted on the UKTrainz forums.

Mark




That's right, no need to ask, no need to credit :) We all have to learn from somewhere, that's why I put my sources out. (It also gives me a little bit of a competitive incentive to get my arse into gear so to speak :) )


_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:38 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Oh, well then, this will be great news. I can reskin a class 478 train set and a class 477 trainset. The class 478 trainset will be used for express service and the class 477 can be used for local service.

Now, how easy is it to reskin these? I haven't reskinned an asset before.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:43 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone. I have made a few changes to my route. First off, I have removed the terminus building that I used for Stamford Station and I'm currently rebuilding it to be a 4 track terminus station instead. Also, two tunnels will be included on the approach to Stamford. I am currently working on two tracks that will lead to the North Stamford Maintenance and Storage Yard to store the trains. I'll be able to continue working on the route on Friday.

Take care and stay awesome!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:35 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone! Here are some more screenshots! :D

Here is the overview of Stamford Station. There are four platforms, two for express trains and two for local trains.
Image

Here is the front of Stamford Station.
Image

Here are the ticket barriers at platforms 1 and 2.
Image

Here are platforms 3 and 4.
Image

Here is a view of the station from above. Note the excellent use of catenary here.
Image

This is Stamford Tunnel at the Northbound side.
Image

Now, I have a question about this junction here. I'm having difficulty trying to build catenary over this section of the line but it just doesn't work. I think I may need to fix the trackwork around this area.
Image

These two tracks will lead to the North Stamford Yard, where trains will be stored.
Image


Please let me know if you have any questions. Feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you and stay awesome!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:22 pm 
Milepost 1
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:11 am
Posts: 16
Location: Greater London
Trainz Version: 2012
Trainz Build: 61297
Author KUID: 299027
The curves look too tight in places plus the use of the default station buildings would be better to use custom ones so as in Nexus has some good platform splines you could use.

_________________
"You've got red on you." ~ Every London bus driver, to their bus, every day.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:40 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
chrisrose1993 wrote:
The curves look too tight in places plus the use of the default station buildings would be better to use custom ones so as in Nexus has some good platform splines you could use.


I'll be fixing up the curves today and will see if I can replace the current platform splines and station buildings as well. I'm also currently in the process of reskinning class 478 rolling stock to be used for the line.

Thank you for the feedback.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:17 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
car112 wrote:
Now, I have a question about this junction here. I'm having difficulty trying to build catenary over this section of the line but it just doesn't work. I think I may need to fix the trackwork around this area.


In that situation it looks like you'd be better off with a different layout. I'd imagine it would be more realistic to have a series of crossovers, and then the 2-track line branch out from only the bottom 2 tracks (or utilising a flyover/dive-under depending on how the tracks are configured). That would make them much easier to electrify

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:01 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
Hello everyone. I have some good news. I recently fixed up the track layout beyond the Stamford Tunnel. There is now a crossover between the local line on the left facing north and the express line on the right. Beyond the crossover is the junction to North Stamford yard, a four track layover yard for storing trains. I've also laid track down to Balerno, a four track station which will have walkover ramps. The station is partially elevated but it's useful. Beyond Balerno, the tracks will go underground. I will make sure to post screenshots of this progress so far either today or sometime tomorrow. Also, I have fixed the track curves as well.

Also, the class 478 Gramsby Line reskins are complete but will not be released yet. I was able to fix the font on the ledboards using a font called DS-Digital.
Also, I've created destination textures for the Gramsby Line class 478 as well. Do I need to ask permission first before uploading these destination textures to the DLS?

The destination textures are the following:

Gramsby Local
Northbound

Gramsby Express
Northbound

Stamford Local
Southbound

Stamford Express
Southbound

No Passengers

Special

Work Train (Note: There will be four DMSO-PTSO-DMSO consists who will have this destination texture.)

Please let me know if you have any questions and feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you all for your support and stay awesome!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:30 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Posts: 1205
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP2
Trainz Build: 90945
Author KUID: 214658
In the UK, the term "No passengers" is not used on destination boards. I think you will find the display would read, "Not In Service."

Cheers :D

Dave


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stamford - Gramsby aka The Gramsby Line
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:03 pm 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 533914
cyberdonblue wrote:
In the UK, the term "No passengers" is not used on destination boards. I think you will find the display would read, "Not In Service."

Cheers :D

Dave


Yeah, I will need to change that. Also, should I upload the destination textures to the DLS even though the route is not done yet?

Thanks for the advice.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group