Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:28 am


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 New Irish Member Here! 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 6:13 pm 
Past 250!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:40 pm
Posts: 345
Location: Cambridgeshire
Trainz Version: 06/TC3/09/10/12/TANE
Trainz Build: 4
Author KUID: 243828
blackwatch13 wrote:
Itareus wrote:
James

Do you know if your laptop has on-board graphics or a dedicated graphics card ?


James stated in his earlier post ...........
Quote:
but my desktop should run it very well compared to the newer version of TRS e.g. TRS2012.


.... so could well have a graphics card installed.


:oops: Remind me to wake up before replying :D .

James,

Well you have made your choice now, just be aware that if you decide to go into content creation at a later date you will really need to get a later version of Trainz.

C

_________________
Image

http://itareustrainz.weebly.com/


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 6:21 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
I've got it installed now. However one thing is bugging me, I got this disc from the local secondhand shop and as per usual the serial code is registered with another account. Would this cause any trouble for me? The Content Manager works okay and it shows me that I have 100 MB of data left to download for today.

James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 6:37 pm 
SOTM Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:10 pm
Posts: 1506
Location: Worcs
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 485742
thejamesrankin wrote:
I've got it installed now. However one thing is bugging me, I got this disc from the local secondhand shop and as per usual the serial code is registered with another account. Would this cause any trouble for me? The Content Manager works okay and it shows me that I have 100 MB of data left to download for today.

James.

Usually, without having a valid serial number registered with your account, you will not have access to any downloads - have you tried any yet? The 100MB limit is in line with the standard download service; this is removed through the acquisition of a First Class Ticket (FCT).

_________________
Screenshot of the Month co-ordinator.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 7:24 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 2727
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: TRS2019 , TANE SP3
Trainz Build: 100240
Author KUID: 45317
Welcome to the forum :D

Once a serial number had been registered then it cant be transferred and re-registered .
Without a valid serial number you will not be able to download any content from the DLS .
You need to purchase and register a new version to be able to access the DLS .

As a footnote you wont be able to download from the DLS with a version of Trainz below 2009 without a first class ticket .
Also free DLS access for 2009 and 2010 finishes this September (2014) so these versions will also need a ticket to continue to download (trying to find web page to confirm this ?) .

EDIT : found the page and 2009 and 2010 free access does finish September 2014 :
http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/index.php/Trainz_Life-Cycle_Policy

_________________
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 9:37 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
Taking your advice on board (excuse the pun) and having a think to myself, I've scrimped the pennies together and I am going to buy a brand new copy of Trainz Simulator 2010 tomorrow. In return I will have a simulator that I can download all of the content that I require free of charge until September, I will have a valid serial code and I will have a game that runs smooth on my desktop without the lag and the bugs associated with MSTS. In addition to this I can also build my own routes!

Does anybody else want to have their say before I take the plunge?

As a reminder my PC specs are as follows:

2.9 Ghz Dual Core AMD Athlon II Processor
Nvidea GeForce 210 512 MB GPU
3 GB RAM

www.game-debate.com analysed that my PC can indeed run this game without any issues.

James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 1:10 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 1017
Location: London, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
Although I'm not as knowledgeable as some on here, I would say that if I were you, I'd save up a little more and get TS12. If your PC can run 2010 it can almost certainly run TS12, and September isn't that far away...

However if you're sure, go for it!

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 7:52 am 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
Mightyena wrote:
Although I'm not as knowledgeable as some on here, I would say that if I were you, I'd save up a little more and get TS12. If your PC can run 2010 it can almost certainly run TS12, and September isn't that far away...

However if you're sure, go for it!


That is exactly what I've just done! I bought it last night on the official website and downloaded it to save waiting for a physical disk. I will install it this evening once back from college. I'm actually excited because that HST looks great! What British EMU's would I have access to for free? Also what British routes have been modelled? I see somebody on here has the Derry-Belfast line modelled. That's my local!

James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:47 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
I'd just like to let you guys know that I am having a great time with Trainz 12! It is certainly offering more than what MSTS did and although I do get the occasional stutter I can easily adjust my settings a little notch to compensate but retain the amazing graphics! I honestly thought it would look childish and unrealistic but Trainz has certainly come a long way since 2006. I am having a little problem though and I'm hoping somebody can help. When I drive a train with the non-DCC controls the train barely reaches anything above 10 mph yet when I drive the train with DCC controls it accelerates like normal and reaches it's top speed. What is causing this and how do I fix it? This affects the Class 501, the built in HST and the LU stock I have downloaded and tweaked to work in Trainz 12.

Regards, James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:48 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 2727
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: TRS2019 , TANE SP3
Trainz Build: 100240
Author KUID: 45317
There is a chance that your trying to apply too much traction power and the train is wheel slipping ?
Try starting off using just the first or second power notches and then once your up to about 5 mph move the power controller to notch 3 and so on as train speed increases.
Some of the train cabs have a yellow wheelslip light on the instrument panel , If this is lit then you will generally hear a slipping metallic sound coming from the train to indicate that the wheels are slipping and also the speed indication on the hud (top right of screen) will be flashing .

It's a bit like a car where you need to start off steadily and increase speed , If you floor the accelerator then the car will probably wheel spin and paint part of your tyres on the road ;)

DCC is set up basic like a train controller , trains have a bit of inertia but if you suddenly shut off power they generally don't coast very far .
Cab mode is set up to mimic real life Train driving (not completely accurate compared to the real thing but it's getting better over each subsequent release of Trainz) .

_________________
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:52 pm 
SOTM Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:10 pm
Posts: 1506
Location: Worcs
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 485742
Nexusdj wrote:
There is a chance that your trying to apply too much traction power and the train is wheel slipping ?
Try starting off using just the first or second power notches and then once your up to about 5 mph move the power controller to notch 3 and so on as train speed increases.
Some of the train cabs have a yellow wheelslip light on the instrument panel , If this is lit then you will generally hear a slipping metallic sound coming from the train to indicate that the wheels are slipping and also the speed indication on the hud (top right of screen) will be flashing .

The wheelslip noise is one of the most annoying things when driving I find. On some trains it seems very unrealistic, as to avoid it the train accelerates so slowly; taking around 2 mins to reach 25mph. It also ruins trying to drive a class 150, as the horrible screeching plays whilst your trying to leave with suitable noise (as they do in real life)... :x

_________________
Screenshot of the Month co-ordinator.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:00 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
Hi guys,

You hit the nail on the head with my problem! Getting up to speed properly now when the throttle isn't full whack.

Now can anybody recommend me any UK routes based around London preferably prototypical. When I had MSTS I had the Great Eastern Mainline, ECML, Farrigdon Line and WCML to chose from when I was in the suburban mood. At the moment I am exploring the ECML around Kings Cross but there is a lack of overhead power lines there. I would also be interested in prototypical London Underground routes.

Somebody here recommended using 5WES sounds on the built in Class 313 yet whenever I change the kuid in the Class 313 errors show up. Help? :oops:

James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:17 pm 
Milepost 7
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:34 pm
Posts: 90
Location: London, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 0
I recommend the Paddington - Westbury route by nawlins (<kuid:117948:100268>). It is a re-working of an earlier version of the route. Worth noting though that it says the route is only designed for build 49922, and I don't know what you have got. (The build number can be found in the bottom right corner of the launcher)

_________________
Keep Calm and PLAY TRAINZ!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:07 pm 
Past 500!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:27 pm
Posts: 662
Location: Lincoln
Trainz Version: Tane
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 222042
I've got the Paddington - Westbury route running ok in build 61388. :)

_________________
Tane SP3 build 94916 + SnC & Duchess


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:15 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
Evening guys,

I've bought a 6 month FCT and I'm downloading the Paddington-Westbury route but my download speeds are still around 5 kbps. I thought a FCT allows you to download at full speed (in my case 7 mb)? :(

James.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Irish Member Here!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:37 pm 
New Starter

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:34 am
Posts: 14
Trainz Version: 12
Trainz Build: 0
Author KUID: 0
FIXED NOW GUYS! :D


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group