Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

I've been merrilly working away on a route for some considerable time now - in fact, I'd swear it's growing all on its own, day after day, without me going near it. Things have been going along nicely - that is, until recently. Suddenly I've got a couple of red bugs and, from what I can see in the information box, it seems as if the Seacows have gone bad on me. They have been running perfectly well - and still seem to - with no issues whatsover. However, ALL of my HAA's completely vanished off my route - and I'm mystified as to why, although I now have them back again - and these red bugs appeared. I looked at the HAA's in CM and they were all 'red flagged' but when I clicked on them in turn, each one was miraculously cured and was available again in surveyor without me having to do any more. Strange. However, my red bugs are still with me (2 of them it seems) and the only thing in the information box I understand is the word "Seacow."

Not being that clued up on this kind of thing, I wondered if there was a way to cure the problem without getting rid of the Seacows. Any help would be appreciated - but please remember, I'm not that great at understanding the ins and out of all this coding and scripting stuff so please be gentle with me. I'm happy to have a go at anything if the instructions are clear enough though.

Thanks

Dave
shaneturner12
Past 250!
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:17 pm
Trainz Version: TS12/TANE CE
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 234888
Contact:

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by shaneturner12 »

Have you got the required dependencies for that asset?

Shane
User avatar
Itareus
Past 250!
Posts: 345
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:40 pm
Trainz Version: 06/TC3/09/10/12/TANE
Trainz Build: 4
Author KUID: 243828
Location: Cambridgeshire
Contact:

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Itareus »

Looks to me like a problem with the chameleon script Dave (which I think is encrypted as it's a .gsE so you can't see it to change it). I suspect that the problem will require an intervention by the creator of the assets or the script but it could be just be that you have a corrupted copy, try deleting the asset in CM and downloading again.

Chris
User avatar
Warbo40
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2297
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:02 pm
Trainz Version: TS2012 (SP1)/S&C
Trainz Build: 57898
Author KUID: 441222

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Warbo40 »

Yeah definitely looks like a script / cameleon error of some sort. You haven't made any changes to the script or to the config have you by any chance have you ?

Which of the seacows is it ? and i'm guessing it's the one's by Gary Green.

This is how the script looks on kuid2:174088:16047:1 asset for example

Code: Select all


include "vehicle.gs"
include "asset.gs"
include "library.gs"

/*
   seacow script
  
   Author: Dave Renshaw (eldavo)

   Copyright Dave Renshaw 2005. All rights reserved.

 */

static class seacowConstants
{
    public bool debug = false;

    // config.txt values to control debug output
    //
    define public string DEBUG_SWITCH		= "x_script_debugging";
    define public string DEBUG_SWITCH_TRUE	= "ON";

    define public string shortCopyright = "(seacow by gary green) Copyright Dave Renshaw (Eldavo's Railway Emporium) 2005";
    public bool copyrightDone = false;
};

class seacow isclass Vehicle
{
    void CouplingHandler(Message msg);

    Library couplestar;
    Library chameleon;
    Library numberit;

    string livery = "";

    void Init(void) {
        inherited();

        string s = GetAsset().GetConfigSoup().GetNamedTag(seacowConstants.DEBUG_SWITCH);
        if (s == seacowConstants.DEBUG_SWITCH_TRUE) seacowConstants.debug = true;

        if (!seacowConstants.copyrightDone) {
            Interface.Log(seacowConstants.shortCopyright);
            seacowConstants.copyrightDone = true;
        }

        if (seacowConstants.debug) {Interface.Log("-->seacow.Init() my name is '"+GetName()+"' and id is '"+GetId()+"'");}

        couplestar = World.GetLibrary(GetAsset().LookupKUIDTable("CoupleStar_library"));
        if (couplestar) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[1];
            objectParam[0] = me;

            // If we are in debug mode have CoupleStar output an evaluation of the config...
            if (seacowConstants.debug) {
               if ("OK" !=  couplestar.LibraryCall("CheckConfig", null, objectParam)) {
                   Interface.Log("<--seacow.Init() Errors in CoupleStar configuration!");
                   return;
               }
            }
            // Set up the initial couplers and hoses...
            couplestar.LibraryCall("SetInitialCouplers", null, objectParam);
        }

        chameleon = World.GetLibrary(GetAsset().LookupKUIDTable("Chameleon_library"));
        if (chameleon) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[1];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            // Set up the initial livery...
            string[] stringParam = new string[1];
            stringParam[0] = livery;
            chameleon.LibraryCall("Start", stringParam, objectParam);
        }

        // Pick a running number if one hasn't already been set
        numberit = World.GetLibrary(GetAsset().LookupKUIDTable("NumberIt_library"));
        if (numberit) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[1];
            objectParam[0] = me;

            // If we are in debug mode have NumberIt check the config...
            if (seacowConstants.debug) {
               if ("OK" != numberit.LibraryCall("CheckConfig", null, objectParam)) {
                   Interface.Log("<--seacow.Init() Errors in NumberIt configuration!");
                   return;
               }
            }

            numberit.LibraryCall("SetRunningNumber", null, objectParam);
        }

        AddHandler(me, "Vehicle", null, "CouplingHandler");

        if (seacowConstants.debug) {Interface.Log("<--seacow.Init()");}
    }

    void CouplingHandler(Message msg) {
        if (couplestar) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[2];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            objectParam[1] = msg.src;
            string[] stringParam = new string[2];
            stringParam[0] = msg.major;
            stringParam[1] = msg.minor;
            couplestar.LibraryCall("HandleMessage", stringParam, objectParam);
        }
    }


    //===================================================================================
    //  Chameleon support methods - modify with care!
    //
    public void SetProperties(Soup soup) {
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
        inherited(soup);
        //
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
        if (chameleon) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[2];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            objectParam[1] = soup;
            string[] stringParam = new string[1];
            stringParam[0] = livery;
            livery = chameleon.LibraryCall("SetProperties", stringParam, objectParam);
        }
    }

    public Soup GetProperties(void) {
        Soup soup = inherited();
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
        if (chameleon) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[2];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            objectParam[1] = soup;
            string[] stringParam = new string[1];
            stringParam[0] = livery;
            chameleon.LibraryCall("GetProperties", stringParam, objectParam);
        }
        return soup;
    }

    string GetPropertyType(string propertyID) {
        string s; 
        if (chameleon) {
            string[] stringParam = new string[1];
            stringParam[0] = propertyID;
            s = chameleon.LibraryCall("GetPropertyType", stringParam, null);
        }
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
        if (s == "") s = inherited (propertyID);
        return s;
    }

    void LinkPropertyValue(string propertyID) {
        if (chameleon) {
            string s; 
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[1];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            string[] stringParam = new string[2];
            stringParam[0] = propertyID;
            stringParam[1] = livery;
            s = chameleon.LibraryCall("LinkPropertyValue", stringParam, objectParam);
            if (s == "inherit") inherited(propertyID);
            else if (s != "") livery = s;
        }
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
    }

    public string GetDescriptionHTML(void) {
        string s = inherited(); 
        //-------------------------------------------
        // add your code between these comments if you wish...


        //-------------------------------------------
        //
        if (chameleon) {
            GSObject[] objectParam = new GSObject[1];
            objectParam[0] = me;
            string[] stringParam = new string[2];
            stringParam[0] = s;
            stringParam[1] = livery;
            s = chameleon.LibraryCall("GetDescriptionHTML", stringParam, objectParam);
        }
        return s;
    }
};
Work to live not live to work.
User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

shaneturner12 wrote:Have you got the required dependencies for that asset?

Shane
Yeah, Shane, I've got all the dependencies. As I said, these wagons have been (and still appear to be) working fine. It's just the wierd and (not so) wonderful things that are happening with the bugs present (like disappearing HAA's) that spoil things otherwise I'd just ignore them.
Itareus wrote:Looks to me like a problem with the chameleon script Dave (which I think is encrypted as it's a .gsE so you can't see it to change it). I suspect that the problem will require an intervention by the creator of the assets or the script but it could be just be that you have a corrupted copy, try deleting the asset in CM and downloading again.

Chris
Even if I could see it Chris, I wouldn't know how to change it. I tried your suggestion of rinse and repeat (delete and reinstall). It didn't work, I'm afraid. As soon as I fired up Trainz again up popped my little bugs. Really frustrating. Even with the bugs in the bottom corner of the screen things will work fine for ages then... things vanish, but not the Seacows themselves. It's strange because they seem unaffected but they upset everything else.
Warbo40 wrote:Yeah definitely looks like a script / cameleon error of some sort. You haven't made any changes to the script or to the config have you by any chance have you ?

Which of the seacows is it ? and i'm guessing it's the one's by Gary Green.
I haven't made any changes of any sort at all Warbo. I've had no need to - and I wouldn't know what I was doing anyway. You're guess is right about which Seacows they are: Gary Green's, kuid2:174088:15003:1

Have any of you fellers got this asset? (or these bugs but didn't know it?)

Dave
User avatar
Warbo40
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2297
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:02 pm
Trainz Version: TS2012 (SP1)/S&C
Trainz Build: 57898
Author KUID: 441222

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Warbo40 »

No, i haven't got any of these bugs with Greeni's seacow's i'm afraid. I did have it with Eldavo's freight wagons a few years ago though and i think all it took was an adjustment in the config to get rid of the problem.

The section in the config with the chameleon liveries should read as follows, not suggesting that you've changed anything as you say you haven't

Code: Select all


extensions
{
  script-debugging-75134                "OFF"
  
  couplestar-75134
  {
    bluestar_coupler                    "50"
    bluestar_brake                      "5"
  }
  
  chameleon-75134
  {
    chameleon_default_liveries          "YGB_1$1#YGB_2$2#YGB_3$3#YGB_4$3"
    chameleon_main_textures             "body-texture"
  }
  
  numberit-75134
  {
    numberit_prefix                     982
    numberit_min                        540
    numberit_max                        567
  }
  max_permitted_speed-60850             "65mph"
}
Work to live not live to work.
User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

I checked each and every variation of the wagon against your code Warbo and they all match exactly - (even the only wagon of the group to be marked as "obsolete.") Very frustrating. Thanks for trying though Warbo.

Dave
User avatar
Chris1955
Past 100!
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:27 am
Trainz Version: TRS2006,TC3,TS2010
Trainz Build: 49933
Author KUID: 347716
Location: Rugby

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Chris1955 »

Hi Dave,

Don't have ts12, but had an almost identical problem in 06 a couple of years back.

From the period when the wagons worked perfect to when they faulted out, did you download any new wagons etc which used the same or similar script file. If that's the case it could be an outside possibility that wagon may have used an updated or modified file which could then possibly cause the other items to want that said updated file, thus showing a fault as that updated file might not be compatible with the previous wagons.

Chris A.
User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

Chris, I've downloaded loads of stuff this last week or so but not wagons - point motors and mailbags from Itareus, various trees, bushes and greenery stuff, bridges and so on and so forth. I doubt if stuff like that would affect the Seacows but I wouldn't be stunned if somebody popped up and said, "Oh yes it can," Oh, I downloaded the Mk II's from Paulsw2 but that was after my bugs appeared so I can't blame them (Lovely job Paul, thank you.)

I don't want to say it too loudly incase I tempt fate but... things have stopped disappearing at the moment ... so I'm tempted to just carry on and ignore it all. The amount of swear words I've used has now dropped to a more tolerable level so I am managing to press on without showing the neighbours how uncouth I actually can be sometimes :shock: Thanks for your input though Chris.

Dave
User avatar
greeni
Past 750!
Posts: 808
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:33 pm
Trainz Version: TRAINZ22PE
Trainz Build: 123799
Author KUID: 174088
Location: Wigan, Lancashire. WCML

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by greeni »

Hi,

its a script thing that sometimes happens when the updates are issued they obsolete things and don't tell creators, best thing to do is delete the seacow kuids and redownload them from DLS. as I have not touched anything for a good while.
User avatar
Chris1955
Past 100!
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:27 am
Trainz Version: TRS2006,TC3,TS2010
Trainz Build: 49933
Author KUID: 347716
Location: Rugby

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Chris1955 »

cyberdonblue wrote: The amount of swear words I've used has now dropped to a more tolerable level so I am managing to press on without showing the neighbours how uncouth I actually can be sometimes :shock:

Dave
I always find a good dose of couthness goes a long way. :lol: :lol:

Always happy to try and help an ex Birmingham man, don't know which depot you worked from and when; it's possible our paths may have crossed if you worked for BR in the mid/late 80's.

Chris A.
User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

greeni wrote:Hi,

its a script thing that sometimes happens when the updates are issued they obsolete things and don't tell creators, best thing to do is delete the seacow kuids and redownload them from DLS. as I have not touched anything for a good while.
I tried deleting and re-downloading them yesterday Gary but it didn't work. However, I've tried it again not long ago and my red bugs have disappeared. I can't help sitting here waiting for them to reappear at any minute though. No confidence, that's my trouble :lol:
Chris1955 wrote: ...don't know which depot you worked from and when; it's possible our paths may have crossed if you worked for BR in the mid/late 80's.

Chris A.
The Railway is a surprisingly small world so I'm sure they did Chris. I was at New Street in the mid 80's up until 2007/08. I once went to Oostend on what we used to call the smuggling run. It was an excuse to consume large quantities of Belgian, French and German beer before returning home a couple of days later with copious amounts of contraband, hoping not to be stopped at customs (which we never were in those days.) Upon leaving one drinking establishment in search of fresh pastures (better known as, I've had enough of this place let's try another one) we stepped outside into the barren streets where a force 9 gale was blowing - only to be confronted by 3 New Street drivers on Annual Leave coming the other way. Like I said, a small world :lol:

Dave
User avatar
Chris1955
Past 100!
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:27 am
Trainz Version: TRS2006,TC3,TS2010
Trainz Build: 49933
Author KUID: 347716
Location: Rugby

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Chris1955 »

I bet I do remember you, I worked in the train crew office as driver/guard roster clerk at New Street 86/7 period.

Lived near Coventry then and used to catch the Manchester to Harwich (PQ) service home which was a New Street turn, managed to get a few runs "up front" back to cov; providing there was no TI's about. Many things I remember about that period, the 150's were coming into service and the 317 units started taking over the Birmingham - Euston semi fasts; I seem to recall there were issues with the brake pressures on the 317's causing them to overshoot some of the station platforms slightly.

I always remember the brown stuff hitting the fan if we offered work to Saltley when we were short of drivers, either through lack of drivers, route or traction knowledge.

Chris A :D
User avatar
cyberdonblue
Forum Veteran
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:41 pm
Trainz Version: 2006 2012 T:ANE SP3
Trainz Build: 105766
Author KUID: 214658
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by cyberdonblue »

My bugs are back. Don't seem to be doing any harm at the moment though (say it quietly.)

Chris1955 wrote: I bet I do remember you, I worked in the train crew office as driver/guard roster clerk at New Street 86/7 period.
I'm pretty damn certain we'd know each other then Chris ;) :lol: (Did you work with Helen?) The brown stuff used to hit the fan because many of us were former "Seagulls" who'd been away to all parts of the country for promotion to the grade and had returned to New Street. We knew all the tricks of our former colleagues and we knew how important it was to keep hold of the work allocated to our new home depot. Saltley gained a lot of work over the years by "covering" other peoples work and then claiming it as their own at a later date. Management, at that time, were trying to save money by cutting back on road learning and we knew it could cost us work in the end. Generally though, it was a fun time (if a little "turbulent" at times) and probably the best years of British Rail, certainly for New Street with the type and amount of work we had. Sounds crazy nowadays but drivers could go and have a couple of pints when they were "out of town" with a couple of hours break and nobody thought ill of it. You'd get jailed now :lol:

Dave
User avatar
Nexusdj
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3097
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Trainz Version: TRS22
Trainz Build: 123794
Author KUID: 45317
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Can anyone help me to splat this bug?

Post by Nexusdj »

New street and Saltley on here now , this forum certainly is scraping the barrel these days lol
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!
Post Reply