Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:23 am


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 TS12 SP1 crashing (again) 
Author Message
 Post subject: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:07 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Hello again Trainz technicians.

My TS12 SP1 is crashing persistently. CM works fine but if I try to edit any routes, Trainz crashes. It doesn't even get as far as showing the route. I've tried the EDR to no avail and no errors are showing on the routes I'm attemting to open.

I'm open to ideas...

Thanks,
Innis

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 1:45 am 
Forum Veteran

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:16 pm
Posts: 1279
Location: Crewe, Cheshire, UK
Trainz Version: TRS19
Trainz Build: 96000
Author KUID: 425700
From WindWalker EDR's are not recommended as can cause other problems with Updates and the DLS, only need to do a QDR for TS12 SP1.

If it keeps crashing check both copies of Jetlog.txt, probably give you a clue as to what's causing it.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:08 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
TS12 confuddles me once again. Today, everything is working as normal. I should have tried the old IS helpdesk staple of 'turn it off and back on again'!

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing in surveyor
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 10:09 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
I have a new problem which is preventing me doing anything at all.

On all my routes, if I try to open the scenery tab in surveyor, Trainz crashes. I can do anything else I want but add scenery. I've tried cloning my route, cleared out the sessions, attempted to add scenery to other routes and it crashes every time.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:08 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 2637
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: TANE
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 45317
Have you added anything recently from the DLS or third party which is faulty ?
Is there anything now marked up faulty in CMP that was okay last time you used TS12 ?
Is there anything left open for edit in CMP ?

_________________
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 5:23 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Only the usual yellow warnings, and nothing faulty on the route according to CMP. I have six faulty items on this installation and none of them recent or on the route, likewise for items open for edit.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 9:39 pm 
Forum Veteran

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:16 pm
Posts: 1279
Location: Crewe, Cheshire, UK
Trainz Version: TRS19
Trainz Build: 96000
Author KUID: 425700
Any builtins that are showing as modified? In which case revert to original.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 8:53 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
No built-ins coming up as modified either.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 7:48 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Still have this issue and as yet, no response from the Helpdesk (I'm guessing TS12 won't matter until TANE is out?).

If I reinstall Trainz in the same folder, will it delete everything or will all the work I've done remain in the folders? Until I get this resolved, I'm on Railworks full time.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 9:46 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 2637
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: TANE
Trainz Build: 94916
Author KUID: 45317
I've never tried it that way as you run the possibility of losing all your additional data in the user data files .

In the past as a last resort I've renamed the TS12 main folder to "Original DO NOT DELETE"
Create a new TS12 file and copy over most of the files from the "do not delete" folder except for the "Local" and "Original" folders in User data.
I then add in new empty local and original folders in user data to complete the file structure in the new TS12 folder .
I've then uninstall it in the usual way . (Your original broken TS12 install should be nice and safe in its folder) .

Once its been removed I do a nice clean install and update it with service packs (unless you can get the fully updated version from simulator central) .
Check that it's working then you have 2 options :
1. point CMP at your saved local folder and install content (Could take a long time if you have lots of custom / extra content) .

or if you have a huge amount of custom content :

2. Using most of the files from the clean install you can copy and paste them over a section at a time to your saved broken version , Take your time and be very careful !!!
Make sure you don't overwrite these files below :
Any part of the user data folder (you'll end up having to do an EDR for it to read all the content in your local folder)
the Base.ja or Data.ja files in the main folder .
prebuilt file : assets .tdx and .sql files .

Once the files are copied over rename the clean install folder from TS12 to "Clean install TS12" then rename the "DO NOT DELETE" folder back to "TS12" and then run it as normal .

If its back up and running correctly then you can delete the clean install of TS12
or
if you have plenty of space keep it to re-use if your full install corrupts again ;)

As a general note to anyone contemplating the above :
If you attempt the above then it's at your own risk , I shall not take responsibility if something goes wrong or you lose content .


I have used the 2nd install version twice and it worked both times , but as I've stated I took my time during the process .

There's probably an easier way to tackle it and I'm sure somebody more knowledgeable will be along soon to show how its done ;)

_________________
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 8:23 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Thanks for the advice. I'm going to give the Helpdesk guys another week (perhaps I'm being optimistic?) and if there's still nothing, I'll try the above.

Cheers,
Innis

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 SP1 crashing (again)
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 7:48 am 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Posts: 1445
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 78667
Author KUID: 0
Just an update on this issue.

The helpdesk replied and has diagnosed a corruption of some sort so it looks like I'm going to have to reinstall the whole thing.

With TANE almost on top of us, I'm in no rush as once I have TANE installed, the chances of me using TS12 again are slim, beyond for reference.

Thanks for the advice Dave. Looks like I'm going to have to use it once I get round to reinstalling TS12.

_________________
Meetings. None of us is dumb as all of us.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group