Index  •  FAQ  •  Search   •   Register | Login  

It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:05 pm


Last visit was: style=

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10 
Author Message
 Post subject: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:32 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
Hi all, I recently "upgraded" to indows 10 (using the upgrade, activate, then clean install method), and reinstalled TS12. When I first ran it, everything was fine. Patched up to build 49922, still all good. Copied over my local and original folders, ran a database repair and now Trainz won't start up. In Task manager, launcher.exe appears in the list, and TADdaemon starts using up memory until it gets to exactly 258,388KBB of RAM and 25% CPU and just sits there, and nothing else happens (I have left it like this overnight and it was still like this in the morning). I have it set to show database process windows, but none appear. Attempting to bypass the launcher has the same result. Opening bin\contentmanager.exe causes the same thing to happen, whilst opening bin\Trainz.exe causes a window to appear that instantly stops responding. Anyone have any idea what's gone wrong (The only thing I've done since it last worked was install my old content and run a QDR).

I'd quite like to not have to reinstall everything, but if that's the only option, then so be it. It's just that the last database repair took around a day and a half, and I'd rather not have to sit through that again! (Isn't Windows 10 supposed to be 'better' for gaming? Cause I get lower fps on most games than I did in WIndows 7, and QDRs only used to take 3-5 hours, not days... :evil: )

Anyway, thanks for any pointers you can give,

James

EDIT: Never mind. It just popped up after I tried it again... Sometimes I think thias software has a mind of its own... :roll:

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:23 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:51 am
Posts: 74
Location: From Warwickshire, England
Trainz Version: 12 SP1
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 102457
Just a thought on this one.
Can you get content manager to start up when you click the Trainz Icon.
If not go into the file menu in the directory of Trainz and find the executable content manager icon.
Click the content manager icon.
If successful in starting the program from the file menu in content manager run an extended database repair.
This may fix up the problem.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:40 am 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
Thanks for the reply, but it started working again by itself a few days ago...

Also, the answer to your question is in the first post...
Quote:
Attempting to bypass the launcher has the same result. Opening bin\contentmanager.exe causes the same thing to happen, whilst opening bin\Trainz.exe causes a window to appear that instantly stops responding.

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:55 am 
Milepost 5
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:51 am
Posts: 74
Location: From Warwickshire, England
Trainz Version: 12 SP1
Trainz Build: 61388
Author KUID: 102457
Mightyena,
Well at least it is now running again.
I found that installing any software turning off the antivirus program and running in administration mode helps.
Same action is required when patching up Trainz to build 61388.
Download the update to the hard drive then right click the patch icon and run in admin mode.
Happy train spotting
Mike :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:10 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:56 am
Posts: 890
Location: Aldershot
Trainz Version: 2012 TANE
Trainz Build: 61297
Author KUID: 393563
I had a similar problem, performed an extended database repair but to no avail, then Windows 10 downloaded some updates and everything started working again. These problems are to be expected with new OS's.

_________________
Image
http://berkshiretrainz.webs.com/

Great Bolshy Yarblockos!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:19 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 2591
Location: West Midlands
Trainz Version: TS12 & TANE
Trainz Build: 80330
Author KUID: 45317
Its one of the reasons why I'm resisting upgrading to windows 10 on my main sim computer at the moment . Might wait until the spring , should be enough feedback (from users of the various programs I've got installed) by then to persuade me to make the leap . Meanwhile that upgrade nag screen seems to be popping up at least 3 times a day now , unless I get fed up with it and end the GWX task via task manager ;)

_________________
High visibility pixels must be worn when on or about the line !!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:09 pm 
Forum Veteran

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:16 pm
Posts: 1216
Location: Crewe, Cheshire, UK
Trainz Version: TANE
Trainz Build: 84356
Author KUID: 425700
Easily fixed using Enable_Disable Win10 OS Update From 10 forums http://www.tenforums.com/attachments/tu ... update.reg

It's a registry Hack unzip and double click on the disable reg file There is one for enable and one to disable no sign of any Win10 update or anything downloading on this PC which is Win7 since I applied it.

I do have Win10 on two other PC's and not had any major issues with Trainz any version.

Malc


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:30 pm 
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:02 am
Posts: 1178
Location: Coventry (West Midlands)
Trainz Version: T:ANE
Trainz Build: 90945
Author KUID: 630773
Trainz runs far better on Windows 10 (most things do actually) than it did on Windows 7.

Windows 10 has been very solid since the big "fixes" patch in October.

Everyone's hardware and drivers are different though, so what works for me may not work on someone elses system. If you want to test it out before going for a completely fresh install, it's well worth trying it out in a Virtual Machine first.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TS12 not running at all anymore under Windows 10
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:05 pm 
Past 750!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Southampton, England
Trainz Version: TS12
Trainz Build: 49922
Author KUID: 688183
Briggsy wrote:
Trainz runs far better on Windows 10 (most things do actually) than it did on Windows 7.

Not for me it don't!

Windows 10 has been a bit of a rollercoaster when it comes to stability and 'just-work-factor'. It finally seems to have stabilised into something useable, despite flat out refusing to update to build 1511, everything seems to be running acceptably now (although cortana still inexplicably causes a BSoD whenever it's set to search both web and windows. Not an issue, since I have it disabled, but still... It shouldn't happen)...
As said, it all works now, but still feels really sluggish and non-responsive (not that anything actually gives me the spinning wheel of doom, just that it will sometimes just not register that I've clicked on something, and take a couple of goes to open drop down boxes etc). I suppose it could be my computer, which is not exactly a powerhouse these days, but I don't think its that underpowered...

That said, Trainz hasn't fared too well in the upgrade process, either. TS12 build 49922 (my main install) has performed a database repair no less than 20 times since I installed it (early December), and is far more stuttery than it was under Windows 7. Framerates are all over the place, from a steady 30-ish (Windows 7), to wildly fluctuating between 45 and 15 (windows 10). SP1 just crashes whenever it tries to install the patch, and T:ANE continues to be a huge pile of lag and memory leaks, managing to max out at a staggering 8fps (1024x768, everything set to low including shadows).

To be honest, I'd go back to Windows 7, but since I did a clean install, it's too much hassle installing and configuring everything again...

Just my 2p (or more :lol: )

_________________
James M, creator of the
Image
network


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group